Gayatri Siddh Peeth
Shree Raam - Gayatri Dhaam
Kharesar Dhaam, Kanpur, UP, India

Home | Siddh Peeth | Aashram | Gayatri | News | Miscellanea | Contact Us

Miscellanea > Seven Vyaahriti  
Seven Vyaahriti
Taken from

Om bhoo, Om bhuvah, Om swaha, Om Mahah, Om Janah, Om Tapah, Om Satyah - each prefixed by Pranav Om.
Each of the Vyaahriti has a separate Rishi, Chhand and Devtaa. They are respectively :
Rishi - Atri, Bhrigu, Kutsa, Vashishth, Gautam, Kashyap and Angiras.
Chaand - Gayatri, Ushnik, Anushtup, Brihatee, Pankti, Trishtup and Jagatee.
Their deities are Agni, Vaayu, Ark, Eeshaan, Varun, Indra and Vishwedev.
The body parts where these seven Vyaahriti are to be touched for Nyaas (Ang Nyaas) are....
Bhoo - feet.
Bhuvah - ankles,
Swah - calves,
Mahah - stomach,
Janah - throat.
Tapah - face and
Satyah - head

and while chanting the seven Vyaahriti we should meditate that each of them is present in our respective body part mentioned above. The seven Vyaahriti have to be pictured in our mind as follows --

They have the respective colors. - White, black, yellow, copper color, red, blue and golden.
Each Vyaahriti has four hands wearing Pavitram (ring of Kush grass)
and each on their respective hands carry Abhaya Mudraa, Aksh Maalaa, Jal Paatra and Varadaan Mudra.
Each is wearing sandal paste and fragrant and multi-colored garlands, adorned with all suitable ornaments, and having
the holy threads (Yagyopaveet) and matted hairs.
See Gayatri Nyaasam

After describing the seven Vyaahriti, the method to pay respects to Gayatri is described. Each Paad of Gayatri is divided into two.. total six.

With these six parts Ang Nyaas is to be done by touching our heart, head, Shikhaa, shoulders, legs and the Dik or directions. Then Shad Ang Nyaas with six Mudraa have to be done.

tatsavitu nama vareс╣Зyaс╣Б ai┼Ыvary─Бya ┼Ыirase sv─Бh─Бс╕е--*
bhargo devasya *
dheemahi balaaya kavachya hum*
dhiyo yo nah  tejase netrabhyo vaushat*
prachodayaat v─лry─Бya astraaya phat*

We have to pay obeisance in our heart with Namah Mudraa for Knowledge with Tatsavituh,
we have to pay obeisance at the top of the head with Swah Mudra for wealth with Varenyam
We have to pay obeisance at our hind of the head at the place of Shikhaa with Vashat Mudraa for strength.. with bhargo Devasya
We have to pay obeisance at our bosom where we wear armor with Hum Mudraa for power.. with dheemahi
We have to pay obeisance at our eyes with Vashat Mudraa for effulgence with Dhiyo Yonah.
We have to pay obeisance at all directions with Phat Mudraa for valor, with Prachodayaat.
See the inner meaning of Vyaahriti at

Now let us ponder over the meanings behind these Vyaahriti --

The Pranav, which precedes every Vyaahriti is the combination of Akaar, Ukaar and Makaar and in this combination it represents the tri Viraat Brahmaa, Vishnu and Maheshwar who are the manifestation of the supreme Brahm. The seven Vyaahriti can be defined only in conjunction with the Pranav and it has to be considered that Pranav is the integral part of each Vyaahriti. If we consider each Vyaahriti along with the Pranav --

Om Bhooh.. Bhoo is the embodiment of Sattwa or the essence of existence and it is one with Brahm in combination with Pranav.
Om Bhuvah - Bhuvah represents the Stithi or the present existence of all things and it is one with Brahm in combination with Pranav.
Om Swah - this is invoked by the harbingers of welfare and prosperity like the Rishi ShanakaтАж vring varane representing Va preceded by Sushobhane.. (meaning that it attracts all that is Shobhanam) -- and in conjunction with Pranav this Vyaahriti also represents Brahm.

Om Mahah - this is the Vyaahriti invoked by the great souls seeking emancipation or Moksh form mundane existence (Mahah poojaayam) is also the ultimate Brahm in conjunction with Pranav.

Om Janah.. this Vyaahriti represents the creation of the entire universe (janee praadurbhaave...) and in conjunction with Pranav, this also represents Brahm.
Om Tapah - the energy which is inherent in all beings and present in its manifest form in the effulgent sun and is setting all beings into action.. is represented by this Vyaahriti and in conjunction with Pranv this again represents the supreme Brahm.
Om Satyam - Satyam is one that is not affected or destroyed by space, time, matter or any other existing stimulus, and one that has no destruction because it was never born but was ever existent - it is never born so it has no death.. cf Geetaa), and it represents the absolute truth and in conjunction with Pranav it again becomes the supreme Brahm.

So while contemplating on the seven Vyaahriti during Jap and Praanaayaam we have to be conscious that we are invoking into our own beings the supreme Brahm in the shape of Pranav, the Tri Viraat and the seven forms as discussed above


Home | Siddh Peeth | Aashram | Gayatri | News | Miscellanea | Contact Us


This site is created and maintained by  Sushma Gupta
Created on Oct 14, 2000 and Updated on Tuesday, August 27, 2013
Contact :  Sushma Gupta